Heading Back to the Classics

Image

 

I only recently watched The Great Gatsby, one of the most hyped movies of the year, and despite not being overwhelmed by the movie as a whole, I was deeply moved by the storyline and the brilliant character of Mr. Jay Gatsby. When it comes to classics, I am an absolute and irreversible sucker for them. It is not just the rich language, and the brilliant plots, but mostly the whole aura of such a fantastic era that is embossed on the pages of so many books.

Classics represent a time when there were no easy modes of communication and transportation, and you had to go through great lengths to actually get a word across and travel with a lot of difficulty when the need arose. They are about a time that marked propriety, and elegance, that is so very much lost in the present day and age where everything has to be ‘fast’ as everyone is running towards this unforeseeable horizon that I am yet to grasp the concept of. Modern literature still has a long way to go in order to even grasp a few lingering shreds that are left of the marvellous world that the classics transport us to.

Call me weird, but I really admire the world that classics hold for us. It is an absolute marvel how Jane Eyre managed to rise above her station and lead a happy and fulfilling life; how Anna Karenina gave up a life of respectability just for the sake of love only to meet a tragic end; how the three Musketeers who belong to different backgrounds still manage to find common grounds in order to protect their king. All these tales and the era to which they belong make our lives seem too easy to be of any significance.

Image

 

Today I purchased The Beautiful and the Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald, and I intend to read many more classics from now on, as it was the likes of Jane Eyre and Julius Ceaser that turned me into an avid reader, not modern literature. Don’t get me wrong, I thoroughly enjoy books that are written by contemporary writers; however, they do lack the attraction that classics hold for me.

I am going to try and read all the classics that have been on my reading list for a long time now, and I do hope that my friends and family members do not disown me if I turn up in a Victorian ensemble at the next social gathering. 

Image

Leave a Reply

