My Safe Place: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

Image

If you were about to be hypnotised, and you were asked you to retreat into your ‘safe place’ what place would that be? When I pondered upon this question, it didn’t take me long to figure out that for me that place would unfailingly be Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. Its not just the magic, and the amazing game of Quidditch that attracts me towards it, it is so much more than that.

Image

I maybe all grown up now, but since I was a kid, Hogwarts has always been the place where I would retreat into when the going got tough. Even though it was only in my imagination, it was still the best place to be. When everything around fell apart, the best and the most calming thing to do was to pick up a Harry Potter book and step into Hogwarts, where nothing was impossible.

Hogwarts is so much more than just the Victorian passages and the antique looks, it is home for so many people, when reality gets a little too much to handle. Its a place where you make the best of friends, and also learn to help your enemies out when required. You didn’t have to receive your letter of enrolment to be a part of it.

Image

Even today, when reality pricks, and people around are being complete jerks, all you have to do is pick up any one of the seven amazing books and dive into the world of Harry Potter. ­Even today, sometimes I wait by my window, straining my eyes to see if an owl is coming my way with a letter from Hogwarts, even though I know that I am a little too old to get in there. I like to think that I would probably be in Griffindor, given that I am a Leo and everything.

No matter how many fandoms I join, or how many books I read, my heart always goes back to Harry Potter and my alter-ego enrols itself into Hogwarts.

Image

4 thoughts on “My Safe Place: Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry

  1. What it was all about…a place to escape for a while from the real world. Glad you enjoy.

    Yours truly…”Malfoy” an anagram for “of Amy L”

Leave a Reply

