Doctor Who Saved Me

Image

It is only recently that I came across the show Doctor Who, last month to be more precise, and it would not be an exaggeration when I say that the show saved me. People who have never watched Doctor Who would roll their eyes at this, muttering to themselves, “She has gone utterly bonkers. How can a mere TV show ‘save’ someone?” where as people who have watched the show will be nodding in agreement, speechless, for they themselves will have experienced the same thing.

If you ask how, the answer is not simple. However, I would like to explain. Last year I suffered a terrible loss, one that ripped me to my very soul, and still comes to haunt me occasionally when I divulge into my vault of memories. I was so very lonely, almost self-destructive, angry and hopeless almost all the time. I treated my family badly, was cruel to my best of friends, and hated myself for it all. I watched a lot of TV shows, just to keep my mind occupied, but none of them really touched me deeply.

Last month I discovered Doctor Who, and I have not been the same since. The show has taught me that there is so much more out there than personal suffering, and sometimes the best way to deal with one’s pain is to experience the pain of others. How the Doctor tirelessly travels across universes, saving lives, never for one fraction of a second giving up on his duties. Come to think of it, they are not really his duty, he can merely travel and be a spectator, but he chooses to help, to make someone else’s issues his own.

Image

The Doctor taught me that the simplest of human being is worth rescuing, and everyone is important, no matter how small or insignificant he or she may seem. The Doctor taught me that everyone deserves a chance. Even when he is out there trying to stop the baddies, he gives them a choice, a second chance to retreat and mend their ways before destroying them.

The Doctor taught me that sometimes loving someone means knowing exactly when to let go and say goodbye. It is not about endless time spent together, but spending the time together really well and cherishing the memories that you shared. He taught me how to forgive. The Master treated the Doctor so badly, but in the end the Doctor forgave him. That takes strength, unlike seeking revenge.

I know I am sounding like I am giving out a sermon, but these are the little and important things in life that we people forget to implement so often that we end up leading destructive lives. The Doctor rescued me from becoming an irreversibly bitter person, got me out of the trance of self-loathing. The show has taught me more about life than any religious book out there, and for that I will always be grateful.

Thank you, Doctor.

Image

4 thoughts on “Doctor Who Saved Me

Leave a Reply

