A Decade of the Brits Rocking my World

I clearly remember the day when I first came to know of Harry Potter. It was around the time I was first introduced to Shakespeare. I was all of 13 years of age, awkward with minimal social skills. I had already read Jane Eyre by then, and was in awe with every great piece of literature I came across. Okay, back to Harry Potter. I clearly remember the day, almost like it is seared into my memory. I was ogling at the movie poster of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, and I felt this bubble rising in my chest. I was too young to know what that feeling was, but now I know it was the feeling of my life changing forever.

Image

Between that day and the present time, I have endlessly be in pursuit of everything British, because come on, who can dispute that they have the best of everything; the best theater, the best literature, and the best of history. Hell they ruled most of the world less than a century ago! If I hadn’t discovered harry Potter and Shakespeare, I don’t think I would have been a writer today. The greatest writers and Wordsmiths on this planet, AKA Shakespeare and JK Rowling taught me the power of words, how they can create complete new worlds, make and break a person. That is the ultimate power of it all. And it was then that I decided that I wanted that power, not to destroy anyone, but to express, to put imagination to paper.

Image

After that I discovered Sherlock; that was more recent, as if I had time to obsess over anything else when the Harry Potter series had been going on. That show is better than any piece of television ever created in the history of mankind. Only 6 episodes so far, spread over two seasons, but what class! TV shows that have over 20 episodes in each season cannot even think of competing with the brilliance that is Sherlock. It’s a masterpiece that must have made Shakespeare weep with joy in his grave.

Image

Only recently did I discover Doctor Who; yes, I know its late, since the show has been around for quite some time, but has it changed my life or what! Its like I wasn’t living until now, not until I saw this show. People who aren’t watching Doctor Who cannot even imagine the extent of the awesomeness that they are missing out on. Its not just the time travelling with the stunning Doctor and the amazing companions, or the cursed fairytale that cannot have a happy ending, it is so much more than that. Its about responsibilities, about doing the right thing, or perish trying. It is about living to the best possible extent, not an ordinary one and about taking a stand for what you believe in. I could go on and on, there is so much to the show that it would take many more posts to cover it all.

Image

It’s the Brits, always the Brits with their amazing legacy that have given me more than I could have even thought to take back from this lifetime. One moment I am in Rome watching the fall of the great Julius Ceaser, and the other I am aboard the Hogwarts Express gobbling up a Chocolate Frog. One moment I am marveling at the powers of elimination that Sherlock possesses, and the next I am travelling across time and space in the TARDIS. Thank you so very much for all the amazing memories that you have bestowed upon me, for all the gifts of literature and the TV shows that have been my guiding light all my life.

Image

2 thoughts on “A Decade of the Brits Rocking my World

Leave a Reply

